What happens when I cook

I rarely cook. I just don’t have the patience, and I get distracted far too easily. I prefer baking because once everything is in the oven you can walk away from it for awhile. Baking is very exact and that appeals to me. There have been far too many times when I have thought that I could experiment with some leftover ingredients to cook something for dinner. And let me tell you, those all ended horribly. I once tried to make a stir fry with chicken and broccoli. I turned black from the soy sauce and tasted like salty broccoli.

There are also many tales of pans that I have ruined by forgetting that I was making rice. I’ve had the fire department show up at my door when I filled an apartment with smoke after making falafel. All in all, it’s a good thing that I married someone who cooks. Actually, I married someone who will pour over a cookbook – especially this cookbook – and plan what stews to make or how to update his chili recipe.

Now, I’m not completely hopeless when it comes to cooking. I do have a couple of go-to recipes when I am cooking. I can make pasta. Once in a while I will get the courage to attempt rice again. I rarely ruin rice pans now because I stand next to them the entire time. When I know that the windows can be opened to keep the smoke level to a minimum, I attempt falafel once again.

Working on my cooking skills is a goal of mine, but I feel like this one is a long-term goal. Possibly a long-long-long-term goal.

Leave a Reply

