I am a Christmas decoration snob

When we were younger, immediately after attending Christmas Eve Mass, we would all hop back into the car with a purpose.  We would drive around town to look at all of the Christmas decorations.  It is important to remember that we did not just sit back and “ooh” and “aah”.  No, we would judge the decorations on the houses as a family.  That is a Christmas tradition that still continues with me.

While driving or walking through the city, I can not help but comment out loud when I see Christmas decorations.  Over the years, I have developed strong feelings toward what I do and what I don’t like.  I love classic decorations – all white lights, or all multi-colored lights outlining a house.  But I also love when a house looks like Christmas exploded all over it.

I thoroughly believe that if you are going to go with a classy look, that should be your driving force.  If you are going for a crazy-everything-except-the-kitchen-sink look, well, that should be your driving force.  If you are going to do it, be dedicated to it.  If you want your house to look like Martha Stewart decorated it?  Go ahead and do it.  If you want to put the Griswold house to shame?  Go ahead and do that.

Most importantly, though, your Christmas decorations should be something that you love and that you are proud of.  If you want to just throw some net lights on your bushes and be done with it, that’s fine.  If you want to start planning next years decorations the day after Christmas, well that’s fine too.

Every Christmas, our landlord places a small artificial tree in the front yard.  He decorates it with one strand of garland and a string of red lights.  I think it looks ridiculous, but I smile every time I see it because when I see that little tree glowing red from down the street I know I’m almost home.

Merry Christmas!

One thought on “I am a Christmas decoration snob

  1. My sentiments almost exactly. Can’t wait to see you and have some of your apple pie Christmas Eve night while we sit around the fire.

Leave a Reply

