Bacon cinnamon rolls…..oh….my…..goodness……

As 2009 quickly came to a close, I decided that there was only one way to ring in 2010.  Food.  Not just any food.  I was determined to have the most delicious breakfast for dinner that I could make (with Ryan’s assistance, of course).  It all started when I saw this recipe.  Bacon cinnamon rolls.  How could that not be insanely delicious?  (p.s. I love CakeSpy’s website.  I read it everyday and I currently own two of her small watercolor paintings)

I knew that the bacon cinnamon rolls were going to be on the menu.  For the rest of the meal, I was thinking of snack-type foods.  For as long as I can remember, breakfast/lunch/snacks on New Years Day have been what we in my family refer to as “grazing.”  Eat a little bit all day.  Take a nap.  Eat some more.  Watch the parade.  Take another nap.  Watch some football.  Eat some more.  Take a nap.

I made a fruit salad that turned out really well.  Apples, grapefruit, oranges, coconut.  Be sure to add the juice from all of the citrus fruits.  After it has had time to rest in the refrigerator for a couple hours, it is incredibly refreshing and delicious.  We had some creamy cheese and a baguette that we had planned on eating with dinner on New Year’s Eve but never got around to eating.  That was ok by me.  Mmmmmmmm.  Cheese.

The bacon cinnamon rolls turned out incredibly delicious.  The next time that I make them (and there will definitely be a next time) I will make them in a cake pan instead of the cookie sheet pan that the biscuit dough container recommended.  The biscuits had way too much space and spread out a lot instead of staying nice and tall.  I might also try them with some different bacon types.  Some applewood smoked bacon might be tasty with the cinnamon rolls.  There could be an entire morning of testing different bacon types.  And what a great morning that would be.

Leave a Reply

