Chocolate Chips and Muscovado Sugar

When I found this recipe, I thought that it sounded quite delicious and I was glad to see how many great reviews were posted for this one.  However, I had never used or even heard of muscavado sugar before.  After doing some research, I learned that it is actually spelled muscovado not muscavado.  Luckily, I was able to find both the light and the dark types of muscovado sugar at Whole Foods quite easily.  When I opened the package of sugar, I was struck by the molasses smell.  But it doesn’t smell quite like brown sugar.  There is something different about it that I can’t quite put my finger on.  Also, this sugar has a very different texture than regular granulated sugar or even brown sugar.  It was difficult to get it out of the package because it seems to be rock-hard and stuck in the brick shape until you are able to break some of the pieces off.

I made one major change from the recipe as it was written.  The recipe calls for 5 ounces of semisweet and 5 ounces of milk chocolate.  Each of the bars that I purchased were 4 ounces.  So, instead of just taking off one more ounce on two more bars, I decided to take two ounces from a bar that had already been opened so that I wouldn’t end up with odd amounts of different chocolates left when I had completed my chocolate chip cookie assignment.  So, this cookie is going to have 4 ounces of semisweet, 4 ounces of milk chocolate and 2 ounces of bittersweet.

The finished cookie is a great classic chocolate chip cookie.  They are sweet but not too sweet.  Perhaps that is due to the combination of chocolates used in the cookies.  They have a nice crispy edge and are still a little soft in the middle.  I don’t know that this is my favorite of the cookies thus far, but it is definitely a tasty cookie.

Leave a Reply

