Sometimes You Just Want to Get a Little Help

There’s a phrase that is used frequently on cooking shows. For dessert “you can get a little help from the store.” It is usually said in a manner so that it sounds like an apology. However, I don’t really understand that. Yes, I could turn on the stove when it’s really hot outside and we only have air conditioning in one room. Yes, I could start sweating into a pot on the stove. Or, I could pick up a few items from the store and put together a nice dessert. If you do this, the key is to buy the best items that you can. Read labels. Compare pricing. You don’t have to feel guilty because you wanted a dessert and it felt like 105 degrees in the kitchen. It’s ok to get a little help from the store.  You don’t need to apologize.

Ryan and I were out of the apartment all weekend. I managed to unpack most of the suitcases when we got home. I threw all of the laundry into a giant pile that I would get to eventually. It had been a great weekend but now we were both exhausted. The conversation, as usual, turned to what we were going to have for dinner. He was going to roast garlic and several types of vegetables. I knew that I wanted a dessert but really didn’t want to bake anything and I didn’t want to just grab something that was entirely pre-made from the bakery section of the grocery store. So, I decided to improvise.

I bought an angel food cake from the bakery section and I picked up a couple jars of lemon curd. After browsing through the berries, I grabbed a couple containers of raspberries.

When we got home, I cut the angel food cake into three sections as though it were a layer cake. I added a layer of lemon curd and then a layer of berries. I then topped it with a second cake layer and repeated the process.  It was very hot in the kitchen but I guessed that this would actually help with the cake because the lemon curd would smooth out nicely.  The raspberries and the lemon curd both had some time to seep into the cake a bit before we ate it.

A layer of lemon curd

Top with berries

Repeat and top with last cake layer

I figured that this would taste good for three reasons. 1) Angel food cake is delicious until it reaches the point in which it is as hard as a rock. 2) Lemon curd is fantastic on any light bread or cake items and is incredibly delicious in the summer. 3) Raspberries. That is all. Raspberries.

The verdict:

Delicious!  The lemon curd is just lemony enough so that it does not overwhelm the berries.  Ryan suggested mashing the berries a bit next time.  I think that that would help the berries to seep into the cake layers a bit more.  I might try this out with different types of berries.  I think blueberries might be tasty but Ryan doesn’t like blueberries so someone else would have to help me to eat it.  Or else I will just have to finish it off by myself.  That is also a possibility.

Leave a Reply

