Chocolate Chip Cookie Experimentation

I made a trip to Vosges to pick up some chocolates. You can buy these at some grocery stores but if you have the chance to actually go to one of their stores, do it. My plan was to pick up some bars so that I could make some chocolate chip cookies. The idea was to use a basic recipe and then substitute one of the bars for a Vosges bar.
First on the list: Mo’s Bacon Bar.  I got the dark chocolate variety.  Second on the list:  I wanted something a bit less crazy.  I decided on the Organic Peanut Butter Bonbon bar.  And now, it was time to bake.

I decided to use a recipe that I had already used and that had worked well for me before.  I chose to use the Martha Stewart Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe that I had previously blogged about.  You can find the recipe here.   As I wrote when I baked/blogged this recipe previously, I wanted to try dividing up the brown sugar amounts so that it was half light brown and half dark brown.  I gave that a try this time.  My thinking was that the extra molasses flavor would pair well with the added bars.

I worked through the recipe as normal until it was time to add the chocolate chips.  At this time, I divided the batter into two batches.  (In case they didn’t turn out well, I did not want to be stuck with piles of bacon chocolate chip cookies.)  In each batch, I added one cup of semisweet chocolate chips.  Then I cut the bar for that batch into small pieces and folded it in as well.  Then I put them in the oven and crossed my fingers.

The finished batches:

Bacon-chocolate-chip cookies actually turned out to be pretty delicious.  They are very chocolatey and have just a slight smokey taste.  There really isn’t much of a bacon taste, though.  If I were to do this again, I might just only use the bacon bars and might add in a bit of maple flavor.  Perhaps, this could become a breakfast cookie.  Mmmmmmm.  Cookies for breakfast.

Bacon-Chocolate-Chip Cookies

The peanut-butter-bonbon-chocolate-chip cookies are actually really really good.  I wish that you could smell them through the computer.  There is something quite intoxicating about the combination of peanut butter and chocolate.  And yet the peanut butter taste is not very strong in this cookie.  It almost has more of a sesame taste than a peanut taste.  Next time, I might try this bar in a peanut butter cookie recipe so that it is really really peanut buttery.

Peanut-Butter-Chocolate-Chip cookies

Although experimenting while baking can have very poor results, this experiment has made me begin to think outside of the box with my future baking.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Experimentation

  1. Well, having experienced both cookies personally for multiple tastings, I must say that they were both delicious, with the peanut butter bonbon definitely my favorite. I will be happy to taste additional experimentations at any time.

Leave a Reply

