Sea Salt and Chocolate

This cookie from Serious Eats had been on my list for awhile.  When I saw this recipe, I instantly thought that it would be delicious.  First, it is adapted from a Jacques Torres recipe.  Second, it combines sea salt and chocolate.  Since this week’s weather has been fairly cool, I decided that it was time to turn on the oven and make some more cookies.

There is one very important thing to keep in mind if you try this recipe.  This is not the recipe to use if you want cookies that same day.  The recipe requires you to keep it in the refrigerator for 24 hours.  I’m not sure exactly what the purpose of that is but I do know that when this dough was very difficult to manage when I was adding the chocolate chips.  It was a very thick, dense dough.  I’m not sure if the 24 hour chill changes the texture at all but I didn’t really notice a difference.

This is the first recipe that I’ve tried that I would probably not use again.  The final taste is really delicious.  Really delicious.  The sea salt on the top is an especially delicious addition.  They are nice and soft in the middle with a light crisp on the edge.  However, trying to get the dough to cooperate was pretty ridiculous.  You  know the texture of the cookie dough blobs in cookie dough ice cream?  That’s what the dough felt like when I was trying to get the dough onto the cookie sheets.  But…..they are delicious.

P.S.  This cookie made a grand entrance at a 4th of July cookout today and they were a big hit.  So, I might not give up on this recipe just yet.  I will probably play around with it a bit to see if I can get the dough to cooperate a bit easier.

3 thoughts on “Sea Salt and Chocolate

  1. I can second the statement that the cookies were a hit at the cookout at our house. They may have to be a required dessert item at the next holiday meal. We’re still talking about them.

    Thanks a million (cookies, maybe?)!

  2. I can second the statement that the cookies were a hit at the cookout at our house. They may have to be a required dessert item at the next holiday meal. We’re still talking about them.

    Thanks a million (cookies, maybe?)!

    Catherine – but I’m speaking for the whole family.

  3. Pingback: And the winner is…. « Frostonepurltwo

Leave a Reply

