Cooking Collard Greens – or – Proof that I was a Southern Woman in a Past Life

I love greens. This is definitely a part of growing up because I was not a fan of many green foods when I was younger. When I moved to Chicago, I discovered the joy of well cooked collard greens. A friend that I used to work with had many of her coworkers over for a fantastic Southern dinner. She fried catfish. She made cornbread. And, she made collard greens. These collards had been simmering for a very long time in stock and bacon. Yum!!! I knew that something had changed between me and greens.
In our CSA delivery last week, we received a bundle of collard greens. I had plans of simmering them for hours and covering them in bacon. However, I kind of forgot about them and knew that had to use them today because they were starting to wilt. I had some bacon but it was frozen in the freezer. We were also completely out of olive oil. I was going to have to improvise.

Collard Greens for lunch:
Remove the stems.
Cut the pieces of collard greens into long strips and then cut those long strips in half.
Melt some butter in a pan.
Add the greens on a low-medium heat.
Add couple pinches of sea salt and some freshly ground pepper.
Stir frequently.
Add hot pepper flakes (just a pinch to start).
Stir again before adding a couple teaspoons of apple cider vinegar.
If I had had some stock, I would’ve added that but instead I added in two cups of water.
Turn the heat up.
The greens are ready when the water has cooked away and the greens are very tender.

They are tender and a bit tangy and so incredibly good for you.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Cooking Collard Greens – or – Proof that I was a Southern Woman in a Past Life

Leave a Reply

