The Cooling Effects of Orange Juice

When my dad would make our orange juice in the morning, it was always a tube of frozen concentrated orange juice.  I always loved the sound of the frozen orange blob oozing out of the container and landing in whatever pitcher we were going to drink the juice out of.  For those who have never made frozen juice, you add the required amount of water by filling up the now empty frozen o.j. container and you use that as your measuring cup.  Usually, you add in three containers full of water and then mix it all up.  Some days, dad would switch up the o.j. just a bit. Instead of all of the containers of water, dad would substitute one container of water with one container full of ice and would then throw the whole thing in the blender.  The ice never blended very smoothly and you would get larger chunks mixed in with smaller chunks.  The juice would be ridiculously chilled and frothy on the top.  You had to drink it quickly, though, because the ice chunks would start to melt rather quickly.  Delicious.

As I was sweating buckets today, I remembered the frothy cold orange juice that dad would make.  I new exactly what I was going to make as soon as I got home.  I didn’t have any frozen o.j. but I did have a container of orange juice in the fridge that was ready to go.  I threw in a bunch of ice and dumped some orange juice into the blender.

I’ve got to tell you.  This is so cooling and refreshing.  I highly recommend.  Grab juice.  Grab ice.  Throw both in the blender.  Enjoy.

Kicking the heat out of the living room

One thought on “The Cooling Effects of Orange Juice

Leave a Reply

