The Search for the Perfect Cupcake

Not too long ago, I went to Molly’s  Cupcakes for the first time.  I, of course, had a cupcake.  It seems as though cupcakes are a gigantic food trend these days.  There are food trucks that drive around the city selling just cupcakes.  There are bakeries that just specialize in cupcakes.  There is a show on Food Network about dueling cupcake bakers.  For me, though, cupcakes are not a fad.  I have always loved cupcakes.  I think for me, the best thing about cupcakes is the sheer versatility of these mini cakes.  They can be any flavor of cake that you would use for a full-size cake.  They can be frosted with any type of frosting.  They can be filled with any type of filling that you can imagine.  You can make a basic batch of cupcakes and fill and frost each one of those cupcakes with a different combination.  That kind of variety with one flavor of cake is just not possible in one full-sized cake.

So, now, I have decided that I need to find the perfect place in Chicago to have the perfect cupcake.  I enjoyed the cupcake at Molly’s Cupcakes.  It was a peach cobbler cupcake.  It was filled with peaches and the top of the cupcake actually tasted very similar to a cobbler with whipped cream.  So, yea, definitely tasty.  Was it my all-time favorite cupcake?  No.  But I think that I’m on the right track.

Peach Cobbler Cupcake at Molly's Cupcakes

In your opinion, if I have one cupcake in Chicago, where should it be from?

5 thoughts on “The Search for the Perfect Cupcake

  1. So what’s your current advice about best local cupcakes? We’ve got friends coming into town this week who are serious cupcake fanciers. Should I just send them to Bleeding Heart, or is there someplace else that’s a better bet?

    • Bleeding Heart is always a good backup. However, I have yet to find a cupcake that I enjoy more than the coconut cupcake at Angel Food Bakery. Moist, light, and the frosting is perfect. (I don’t like a too-heavily frosted cupcake. It takes away from the cake.) Dinkels also has some pretty great cupcakes. Their frosting is a bit sweeter. If they want a bit flavors that are a bit more exotic, then I would say Bleeding Heart or Molly’s Cupcakes.

  2. My personal fave are the cupcakes from Southport Grocery, which you can get there, or at coffee shops like The Grind and Wormhole. I believe there is salt in the icing. Also crack cocaine. That is my theory.

    • Ooh. Yes. I forgot about that one. I’ve never been in Southport Grocery but The Grind is super close to us. I love going to The Grind for lunch. A Med sandwich, a grapefruit Izze, a cupcake. Now, that is a perfect lunch.

Leave a Reply

