The fritter

The fritter might be the unsung hero of the bread world. It’s incredibly versatile. You can put all kinds of vegetables or fruits in it. And, it’s the closest that you can get to serving carnival food at the dinner table without looking ridiculous. Growing up, corn fritters were a regular part of our Sunday night dinner. These fritters were really as basic as could be. I recently saw a recipe for corn fritters that had a spice combination added into the dough (I think paprika was involved) and I’ve got to be honest with you. I am sure that it is actually tasty (there was also a recipe for a fritter dipping sauce). But, that’s not the fritter that I have known all of my life. So that is not the fritter that I will make with our bountiful amounts of corn.

If you have a copy of the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook, flip to the section for simple breads.  There, you will find a great recipe for muffins and a really easy recipe for corn fritters.

My finished fritters:

Golden and crunchy on the outside

Soft and delicious on the inside

Drizzle some good maple syrup on top and I really can’t think of a better use for all of that corn that we’ve been getting.

One thought on “The fritter

  1. I can just about taste those fritters. Yours look just like the ones Nana used to make, and that I made when you kids were little. Another memory is coming home from school and having warm banana frittters that our babysitter wouldmake. When I was little, corn fritters always went with the fried chicken dinner. And, I think I remember having corn fritters with fried chicken at Jumers restaurant in Peoria a long time ago. I am so glad that you are continuing the fritter tradtion. Mom

Leave a Reply

