Baking my way through Baked – The first recipe

Recipe the first –

So, I’m not exactly going to do this in any order. I think that as soon as I want to bake something, well, that’s what I’ll do.

We had a lot of pears in our recent CSA delivery boxes. And I do not like pears. There is something about the texture of a raw pear that always reminded me of a raw potato. And I love potatoes but would not want to eat a raw one. A cooked or baked potato is an entirely different food. That can also be said of a pear.

So, I found a delicious looking recipe in Baked for Pear Plum Crisp.

Some changes that I made when I made the recipe:

I used almost all of the pears that we had left.  The recipe calls for 2 medium Bosc pears and 2 medium Bartlett pears.  Well, we had Asian pears so that’s what I used.  And I used four large pears and four fairly small ones.  In addition, the recipe called for 3 large plums.  I had 3 very small plums left so I used those.

I love the smell and the taste of fresh citrus so I upped the amount that I used.  The recipe calls for the juice and zest of half of an orange and half of a lemon.  I used a whole orange and a whole lemon.  I couldn’t resist.  The smell of fresh orange zest?  There are few things that are better in this world than the small of fresh zest.

The recipe calls for a lot of dark brown sugar.  Dark brown sugar is something that I used frequently when I was trying to find the recipe for the perfect chocolate chip cookie.  I recommend using dark brown sugar as much as possible.  It smells strongly of molasses and is super sticky.  I haven’t used it in any baking other than cookies, though, so I was definitely interested in how this would affect the taste.

One more change that I made to the recipe was the size of the baking dish that I used.  I don’t have an 8-by-8-by-2-inch pan.  I have a 12-by-8 and a 13-by-8 so I used the 12-by-8.  I figured that since I was using more pears than the recipe called for, it would probably be ok.

 

Ready for the oven

 

The result?

 

Hot and bubbly

 

I really like the citrus in this crisp.  The fruit has a nice texture.  The crisp part of the crisp actually still has a nice crisp and crunch to it.  Next time, I might try with some apples and perhaps some walnuts or pecans for some added texture.

All in all, this is a delicious crisp and I will definitely be trying this one again.

One recipe down.  Many, many, many more to go as I bake my way through Baked.

 

Yum

 

One thought on “Baking my way through Baked – The first recipe

  1. Pingback: A Scarf for Ryan – Update #4 « Frostonepurltwo

Leave a Reply

