Baking My Way Through Baked – The Third Recipe. (Or, Stressful Nights of Baking)

For work, I need to bring three dozen cookies in for a bake sale.  We are moving quickly toward the end of the semester and Christmas is fast approaching so I wanted to do some baking that would be fairly stress free.  I saw that Baked had a recipe for chocolate chip cookies so I decided that that would be the next item that I did as I bake my way through Baked.

All in all, this was a simple recipe.  The dough was very light.  I’m not entirely sure why that was (perhaps the sugar amount was different from others that I’ve done) but with sugar and butter mixture stayed nice and light and easy to work with.  And the dough tasted delicious.

Delicious.

I made an adjustment with the chocolate in the recipe.  I had a full bag of semisweet and a partial bag of bittersweet chocolate so I used that combo.

Mmmmmmmmm. Chocolate.

I realized after I had already started putting the dough on the parchment paper that the recipe asks you to refrigerate the dough for six hours before baking.  Ooops.  I assumed that that wouldn’t have too much of an effect on the finished product.  I have tested recipes that require you to refrigerate for 24 hours before baking and have tested recipes in which you can go right from mixing to baking and I really haven’t noticed that much of a difference with the doughs.  If anyone knows exactly what refrigerating cookie dough does to the dough, please let me know.  I’d love to hear some different opinions in regards to the time it should take to make cookies.

Now, this had the potential to be a great evening of baking.  And it would’ve been if the timer on the microwave had gone off.  Why didn’t it go off?  Did I actually forget to press the “start” button?  I don’t know.  What I do know is that the apartment smells like burnt cookies.  (Ryan has assured me that it just smells like cookies not burnt cookies.)  Three dozen burnt cookies.  Three dozen very very burnt cookies.

Dry. Overdone. Terrible. But not as terrible as.....

Chocolate Chip Charcoal

So, after a stressful moment, I calmly picked up the parchment paper and threw away the charcoal cookies.

I went to bed with the knowledge that I still had two nights available to get the baking done before I would actually have to turn the three dozen in for the bake sale.  Monday night, I decided to try again.  This time around, I also played around with the chocolate.  I didn’t have enough chocolate chips so I did three bars of semisweet and one bar of bittersweet.

Chocolate. Delicious chocolate.

Since I was going to put forth the effort to try these again, I decided to follow the directions a little closer this time as well.  As I wasn’t likely to stay up until midnight to bake these cookies, I decided that three hours in the refrigerator would probably be just fine.  I might be a tiny bit sleepy tomorrow but after the cookie charcoal briquettes of last night, I decided to put in a little more effort with this round of cookies.

So, after sitting in the fridge for a couple of hours, they were ready to go in the oven.  And then…..

Two dozen = fine. One dozen = burnt.

I don’t really understand what is going on.  Is there something in the recipe that I am missing?  Is there a huge heat pocket in our oven?  Am I just not meant to bake these cookies?  I had enough dough left over so that I was able to throw in another dozen.  I have my three dozen cookies but I am not sure if I will be attempting these cookies any time soon.  Two nights in a row of some stressful baking is about enough for me for a while.

At least until this weekend when I need to do some more baking…….

One thought on “Baking My Way Through Baked – The Third Recipe. (Or, Stressful Nights of Baking)

  1. I have recently had a lot of problems baking. And, I do think that sometimes when you have a lot going on, and then add baking to your tasks–the baking is what pays the price. The day after Christmas, I made a beautiful pot of ham and beans , and what is the essential side dish–why cornbread of course. We were all excited about the warm cornbread with the beans or jelly. But, I left out the baking powder (pretty essential for cornbread) and we had instead cornbread cracker. It was okay–but just not the same. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

