Baking My Way Through Baked – The Fourth Recipe – OR Holiday Baking Round Two

December is traditionally a month filled with baking for me.  This year, I’ve decided to tone it down…..just a little.  Instead of baking dozens and dozens of cookies, I’ve decided to bake one item to bring to the Christmas gatherings this December.  So, for the Christmas gathering this past weekend, I decided to bake a recipe from Baked.

I’ve never made a flourless chocolate cake before but when I’ve had them I’ve either really really really liked them or really really really didn’t like them.  There is a recipe for a flourless chocolate cake in Baked and I decided to give that one a try.  The description sounded so delicious that I really couldn’t pass this one up.

Chocolate and more chocolate

So, if you’ve made a flourless chocolate cake you already know that this cake is basically just eggs and chocolate.   A lot of chocolate.  Seriously.  The entire kitchen smelled like chocolate.  Yum.  Yum.  Yum.

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

This batter will never be referred to as a beautiful batter.  It is soooo lumpy.  Trying to fold the egg whites into the batter was like folding egg whites into day old fudge.  The consistency was really weird.  I’m guessing that this is how a flourless cake is supposed to be but it was really strange.  But it smelled delicious.

Looks weird. Smells great.

When I pulled it out of the oven, it was huge!  It had puffed up beautifully.  However, soon after I put it on the wire rack to cool, it deflated.  Every time that I have had a flourless chocolate cake, it’s been a flat and brownie-like cake so I wasn’t too worried.  However, I have absolutely  no idea what it was supposed to look like so I just hoped that it would be ok.  Maybe it is supposed to be taller and lighter.  This is the downside of Baked.  There just aren’t enough pictures.  I love a cookbook that has a picture for each recipe.  Not only is it fun to look at, but it is helpful when you are pondering whether or not your recipe has turned out properly.

Flat cake

The great thing about ganache is that is covers everything.  This ganache was really more like a frosting than the ganache that I’ve seen on cooking shows, but it covered the ridges on the cake and made it look pretty great.  I was pretty excited to taste the finished product.

Pretty

The verdict:  This is really really really rich.  It’s very dense and very very very chocolatey.  I recommend making sure that you have a tall glass of something to drink if you are going to eat this cake.  I also highly recommend trying this recipe when you pick up your own copy of Baked. This one is definitely a keeper.  And, I feel like it tastes even better the next day.

Chocolate. Chocolate. And more chocolate.

Leave a Reply

