Holiday Desserts – Round Three – White Chocolate and Peppermint Bark

So, on this Christmas Eve Eve, I wanted to spend the evening watching Christmas movies, trying to catch up on my reading, and perhaps making a Christmas treat. This all depended on how soon I would get my errands all run so that I could get back home. I had no idea that the one thing holding this all up would be my attempts to find candy canes. Seriously. I have discovered that candy canes are nearly impossible to find on Christmas Eve Eve.

When I get an idea in my head, I stick with it. I’m stubborn. I’m especially stubborn when it comes to baking or cooking. This morning, I decided that I was going to make a chocolate bark. I haven’t made it before but each recipe that I’ve found makes it sound like you can basically put anything into a bark. Since this was going to be my first attempt at making a chocolate bark, I decided to go with the classic white-chocolate-and-crushed-candy-cane bark. I was certain that although I had neither white chocolate nor candy canes in the apartment, this would not be difficult to accomplish.

Since I was also going to pick up some things for our Christmas Eve dinner, I made a list and then set out to get everything done. The first stop was going to be Target until I saw the line of cars to get into the parking lot. I turned right around thinking that I would be able to get everything at the grocery store. At the grocery store, I was able to get everything except for candy canes. All that they had left were the cherry flavored ones! So, on to the drug store down the street. There were no candy canes in their holiday candy aisle! Thankfully, there were some packages of candy canes hidden near the cash registers.

Finally, I was ready to begin.

White chocolate and candy canes

Before melting the chocolate, you need to smash the candy canes into small pieces.  I started by using a rolling pin but then I switched to a hammer.  The hammer worked a lot better.

Candy cane pieces are ready for some chocolate

Melting the chocolate was super easy. Usually, I melt chocolate by using the microwave in 30 second increments. This time, since I was using a lot of chocolate, I decided to make a double boiler out of a large bowl and a pot of boiling water. (Be careful not to let the water touch the bottom of the bowl. I’m not sure entirely why this is but every thing that I’ve read about double boilers says that this is vital.)

The double boiler is slowly working.....

When the white chocolate is melting, be sure to stir is the entire time.  Melting chocolate in a double boiler is really easy but if you don’t continuously stir the chocolate it gets lumpy. When the chocolate is melted, add in the candy canes and mix it completely.

Yum. Yum.

After it is mixed together, quickly spread it out on some parchment paper on a cookie sheet.  This needs to be done quickly because the chocolate starts to cool and get hard fairly soon after you remove it from the heat.

Ready to go into the refrigerator to cool completely

After it has cooled completely, simply break the bark into smaller pieces.  The results?  For being my first attempt at making bark, I am pretty impressed.  This is super super super easy.  I’m kind of excited about the different combinations that I might try.  Perhaps dried fruit and dark chocolate.  Or pretzel pieces and milk chocolate.

Do you make a chocolate bark for the holidays?  What is your favorite chocolate bark combination?

Finished white chocolate and peppermint bark

2 thoughts on “Holiday Desserts – Round Three – White Chocolate and Peppermint Bark

  1. Okay, so this bark looks just like the peppermint bark we would get over Christmas when I was a kid. We would get it at Andes Candies in Canton and it was really special. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

