Baking My Way Through Baked – The Sixth Recipe

So, I was browsing through Baked trying to find the next recipe for me to conquer.  However, I was also looking for the next easy easy recipe for me to conquer.  I hadn’t attacked any of the breakfast recipes yet so I decided to try to make the Easy Homemade Granola.

When I was younger, I loved (!!!) granola.  When I got older and wanted to find a yummy granola that wasn’t covered in preservatives and weird additives, I realized that that might be asking too much.  As a result, I haven’t had granola in years.  I was pretty excited to be able to have a big bowl of granola and pretty excited to be able to have a supply on hand to munch on.

The recipe is pretty simple.  First you have to combine the oats with the honey/brown sugar/oil mixture.  And when the cookbook says that you need to use your hands, you really do.  And when the cookbook says that you have to squeeze the oats and the honey/brown sugar/oil mixture in order to combine it, well, you really do need to do that or else you won’t accomplish anything.

Then this goes in the oven.

Then, you add almonds and throw it back in the oven.

Then, you add hazelnuts and throw it back in the oven.

Then, you wait for it to cool before adding dried cherries and raisins.

All in all, I will definitely be trying this one again.  Especially since you can mix and match your ingredients to suit your taste and since it makes a fairly large batch.

I’ve been snacking on it but can’t wait to try some on some yogurt for breakfast.  Yum. Yum. Yum.

2 thoughts on “Baking My Way Through Baked – The Sixth Recipe

  1. It looks good. How do you store it and how long will it keep? Although a person would probably eat it up faster than needing to store it. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

