Holiday Desserts Round Four – Cheater’s Croquembouche

Whenever I have seen a croquembouche, I have thought to myself “Man, that sure looks like a lot of work.”  But they are always very elegant and fun looking.  I’m sure that all of the work is worthwhile.  I found two recipes that I might try at some point in my life.  There is a yummy recipe from Martha Stewart and one from Food Network recipe from Gale Gand.

I wanted something fun for our New Year’s Day Brunch and wanted something with a little bit of drama.  I thought that a croquembouche might be a nice touch, but I really didn’t want to put in all  of that effort.  OK.  Call me lazy.  Go ahead.  Lazy is a name that I will always answer to.  An episode of Katie Brown Workshop gave me the answer to my dilemma.  Make a croquembouche without actually making a croquembouche.

Remember when all of the television sets went digital?  And you had to buy a new antenna for any tv that wasn’t connected to a cable box?  Well, since the move to digital, the television in the bedroom only consistently gets Fox or PBS.  Thankfully, PBS has the Create Channel and it was on this channel that I discovered the Katie Brown Workshop.  Katie Brown is kind of like the simpler-I-could-do-that version of Martha Stewart.  And on a recent episode, she made a croquembouche that wasn’t.

I decided to give it a try.  You can find the recipe on her website here.  Essentially, after wrapping a styrofoam cone in parchment paper,  you stab toothpicks onto styrofoam and then stab a donut onto that toothpick.

It was really easy to put together.  However, although it is kind of fun it actually looks kind of silly.  I guess this is one of those things that you can’t actually duplicate without actually making the real thing.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Desserts Round Four – Cheater’s Croquembouche

  1. It looks like a donut tree! Actually, I think it’s kind of funny you that and I and Kirsten all like watching Create–go us.

  2. I don’t think I will ever try the real thing either. Martha makes everything look easy. It would take me a week and a lot of tears to make the real one. And it wouldn’t look right at all.

Leave a Reply

