Cake Decorating Basics class – Session 2

The last class dove a little further into cake decorating by actually allowing us to decorate an actual cake. I brought in my Lemon Drop Cake and was really excited to learn some icing techniques beyond the stars that we learned in our first session.  We worked on filling techniques, frosting the outside of the cake, squiggly lines, borders, dots, and transferring images onto the cake.

I didn’t bring any small containers to mix colors in so my cake is all white.  Yes, the fish would look totally cute in a bright blue or green but I’m happy to know that it looks like a fish.

For my first actual attempt at decorating a cake, I’m pretty proud of the results.

Oh, and the cake?  I took it to work and put it in the break room so that my coworkers would eat it.  And that was a definite success.

One thought on “Cake Decorating Basics class – Session 2

Leave a Reply

