Cake Decorating Class – #3

So, yesterday I had my third cake decorating basics class. It went really well except that by the end, my hand was exhausted. It is kind of like when I was learning how to knit. Muscles that have never worked in a certain direction are being forced to do work that they’ve never done for hours at a time. I am not a professional cake decorator. However, not that I’ve gone this far I can honestly say, professional cake decorators must have the most amazingly fit arms!

After all of the recent baking that I’ve done, I decided to take it easy for class.  I got some help from Betty Crocker.  And I’m thinking that I’ll do the same for my final cake next week.

As you have guessed from the photos, last night’s class was all about cupcakes.  Yummy yummy cupcakes.  I think that they all turned out rather nicely.  The photo made the color look a little weird because the cupcakes with the small white flowers were actually violet.  The photo looks like they were some kind of brownish purple shade.

Yum. Yum. And yum.

The little white flowers are my new favorite.  They turned out really nicely.  And I learned that making leaves out of frosting is actually fairly easy.  We learned three different types of leaves.  They all look pretty similar.

The blue flowers are a little weird looking.  My frosting was definitely too thick so they didn’t come out the way that they are supposed to.  Ryan said that they were really cute sea anemones.  So, I know that if I am ever going to do an ocean themed cake, my sea anemones are going to be awesome.

Lots and lots of cupcakes

I brought all of the cupcakes to work.  They were completely gone in a couple of hours.  I thought that they turned out really nicely.  I guess everyone else thought that, too.

Leave a Reply

