Baking My Way Through Baked – Recipe #11

For the next recipe that I made from Baked, I decided to go outside of the breakfast chapter….while still making something for breakfast.  The Raspberry Crumb Breakfast Bar looked quite delicious.  Anything with raspberries in it is automatically delicious.

There were a couple changes that I made to the actual recipe.  First, I hate getting out equipment that I don’t feel like I need.  That’s why I rarely ever use the food processor.  Sometimes, a food processor is necessary.  Sometimes, it’s just another thing to have to wash.  I felt like this time, it was the latter.  So, I used a pastry cutter instead.

No extra equipment to wash. Crust comes out the same.

I also made a change with the amount of sugar that was added to the raspberry filling.  I knew that I would need to use frozen raspberries since it would be a bit difficult to find a pound of fresh raspberries.  However, I was not able to find plain frozen raspberries.

Sugar added. No plain frozen raspberries to be found.

These bars looked really great when they were done.

Mmmmmmmm

But, I had trouble believing that they were going to cut really easily once they had simply cooled.  Once cooled, they still seemed kind of squishy.  So, I waited to cut them until they had been in the refrigerator overnight.

Yummy!

These turned out really nicely.  They were really easy to make and they weren’t too sweet.  I will definitely be making these again.

Leave a Reply

