Mushrooms and pie crust

My Papa was an amazing man.

He showed his grandchildren incredible amounts of love.  I’m sure that taking us on walks in the woods was actually a pretty stressful occasion for him.  I’m sure that each time we stepped on a morel mushroom he probably rolled his eyes a bit.  I’m sure he got tired of driving the lawn mower with the wagon attached to it around and around the yard until we had finally had enough.  And I’m sure at the end of the day, he thought about his silly grandchildren and would have a little chuckle.

We're probably all waiting for Papa to drive us around.

My Papa was an amazing man.

He knew the value of real food.  He knew the importance of farm-to-table cooking way before it became trendy because he was the one farming the food.  We always had bushels of corn in our fridge.  Melons of every type were served for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Green beans came in a big bowl and were quickly given to my sister and I to start snapping on the porch.  Without knowing it, Papa was a foodie.

I kind of feel sorry for my foodie friends who are forever on the search for the perfect meal.  Because I have already had that meal.  I’ve had that meal several times throughout my life.  A platter of Papa’s fried chicken.  Mashed potatoes with white gravy.  Apple salad.  Fried morels.  And pie.  Oh, the pie.  The only reason that I am even close to being good at baking pie is because I have notes written in the pages of my cookbook that tell me some hints about how to make crust like Papa made.

It is sad to think about all of those perfect meals that I will never eat again.  But I know that I am luckier than most because I have already eaten the best meal on the planet.  Those travel and cooking shows will never know what they missed out on.

Why was that meal always so good?  Was there a secret ingredient?  As cheesy as it always sounds, I am fairly certain that the secret ingredient was love.

And so I say, goodbye Papa.  Your cooking was fantastic but your heart was what was truly outstanding.

Tell Nana, “Hi!”  I’m sure she greeted you with at the gates with a smile and a sandwich.

4 thoughts on “Mushrooms and pie crust

  1. Sarah, that is such a wonderful tribute to your grandpa. I never tasted HIS pies, but the 2nd and 3rd generation pies sure are good. His pies must have been really amazing. My heart goes out to you and your family. Love, Aunt Judy

Leave a Reply

