So many blueberries….

So, just like last summer, we have managed to have an abundance of blueberries in our house. We still have a several bags of frozen blueberries in our freezer that I’ve been slowly trying to get rid of. But now, we also have several pints of blueberries in the fridge.

I decided it was time for some blueberry cobbler.  I found this recipe on  Food Network and decided to give it  try.

It was super easy and quick to put together (which is always a plus if you are planning on turning on the oven when Weather.com says that it is 100 degrees outside).  I changed the recipe up a bit by adding more blueberries than were called for and I also added a splash of orange juice.  Why?  I want to use up as many berries as possible and orange juice is yummy with blueberries.

Usually, I don’t fiddle around with baking recipes too much because baking is based on chemistry that I don’t actually understand and I am usually pretty worried that whatever I add will actually alter the chemical reactions somehow.  This time, however, I figured that even if it didn’t look good it would still taste ok.

The results?

The look is a little different from other cobblers because it is so full of blueberries.  Since there isn’t as much space for the dough, it didn’t have the chance to get very golden on top.

But the taste?

I’m going to go ahead and pat myself on the back for the addition of orange juice.  The cobbler is nice and sweet from the blueberries and the sugar but it also has a nice bit of tartness from the orange juice.  This actually turned out quite nicely.

What do you do when you have an abundance of summer berries?

One thought on “So many blueberries….

  1. Wish I had an abundance of blueberries. Here in Whitefish Bay they are $4 a pint. Whew! The cobbler looks very good, Sarah. How about making a trip up this way and making another one?

Leave a Reply

