Apricot Pie

So, I had a ton of apricots to use up from our CSA. And, I really had a hankering for some pie. Thankfully, this is a problem that is really easy and delicious to solve.  I went through my cookbooks but didn’t see a single recipe for apricot pie.  I guess it’s not the most popular type of pie.  Thankfully, I found a recipe here and the reviews were pretty good so I decided to give it a try.

Many of the reviews stated that people had substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg.  I decided to add a pinch of both.

I was a bit concerned with how soupy the filling looked but I made the decision to follow the recipe.  If it tastes good, then next time I might add a little bit of cornstarch or something like that to thicken it up.

Looks a little soupy to me.....

This pie was also the first time that I attempted to do a lattice design on the top of the pie.  When I make pie, usually it either has no top or a crumble topping.  The finished lattice isn’t actually too bad.  It’s not as pretty as I would like.  I guess that means that I need to practice.  And that means, more pies being baked.

After it finished baking, I removed the foil from the outside of the pie and let it bake  for a few minutes more so that it can get a little bit more golden on the top.

Smells delicious!

It still looked a bit soupy on top.  My hope was that it would thicken up a bit as it cooled.  If it didn’t…oh well.  It still smelled delicious.

After it had cooled, it did thicken up a bit.  It still wasn’t as thick as I would have liked but it was a lot better.  The best part, though, was the taste.  It’s not too sweet and is a bit tart.

Yummy!

One thought on “Apricot Pie

Leave a Reply

