Welcome 2013!

2012 was a tough year for so many of my loved ones.  There were many high points but there were also many, many very low points for those that I care deeply about.  But today is the first day of 2013 and I have so much hope for this year.

13 Things That I Am Thankful For in 2013:

  1. My daughter.  Every single day she makes my heart so happy I feel it might burst.  She has grown and changed so much in her first year and I am so excited to see what every new day brings for her.
  2. My husband.  2013 brings our fifth anniversary.  I am so lucky to have such a great partner in crime who makes me laugh every day.
  3. My family without whom I would not be the person that I am today.  And, the person that I am today is a pretty awesome person. 🙂
  4. My friends.  I am honored to call some of the coolest, most talented, warmest, funniest, and big-hearted people on the planet my friends.
  5. My pets.  Without fail, when I’m having a bad day, a kitty will crawl on my lap.  I don’t know how they know, but they always do.
  6. Books.  My mom instilled in me the idea that one can never have too many books.  If you look at baby girl’s library, you can easily see that I have tried to instill that idea in her as well.
  7. My Kindle.  If you would have asked me a couple years ago if I would ever want or use an eReader, I would’ve answered with a resounding “No!”.  I love the feeling of paper pages.  I love the smell of books especially in a used book store.  I love turning the corner of a page to mark my spot.  However, I’ve had my Kindle for a year now and I really do love it.  I can keep piles of books in it and those books come with me wherever I go.  I still own and read piles of paper books but my Kindle has actually made it easy for me to read more often.
  8. My students.  Every single day is a new adventure in my classroom.  Every single day brings new ideas, challenges, and triumphs.  Teaching is not easy but it is exceptionally rewarding.
  9. Weight Watchers.  Now, I’m not trying to sound likes a spokesperson or anything (but if they wanted to pay me to do spokesperson things, I would be ok with that) but this program worked for me.  I’m not done but I’ve already lost 28 pounds and I don’t believe that I would have been able to do this so quickly (since the beginning of the school year) without this program.
  10. Coke Zero.  Seriously.  I don’t know what I would do without it.  I don’t like coffee. I never have.  But, I still need caffeine.  A Coke Zero is delicious.  Mmmmmmmm.
  11. Music.  All types of music.  I love singing along to the radio.  I love dancing along to one of the many musical toys in the living room.  And I love that my daughter has developed a love of music as well.
  12. Chocolate.  Chocolate.  Chocolate.
  13. My city.  I love Chicago.  We are hoping that we will be able to buy a house in 2013 and we know that it won’t be in Chicago.  Living here is not cheap. Buying here is out of the question.  But, Chicago has been very good to me and to my little family and I am grateful for the time that I’ve been able to spend in a city that I love.

Welcome 2013!  I have high hopes for you!

One thought on “Welcome 2013!

  1. I love your list–and I am also thankful for many of the same people/things on your list! I love your hopeful attitude for this new year–it will be a good year! Love you honey, Mom

Leave a Reply

