A Taste of Home – Or – Things That I Miss

When you see this box, you can rest assured that it is full of yummy.

When you see this box, you can rest assured that it is full of yummy.

There are some things that I miss about living in the city: living just a quick walk away from restaurants and parks, lots of activities to do on the weekend. There are also lots of things that I don’t miss: parking, paying rent to help someone else pay their mortgage, the high cost of, well, everything. But there is one thing that I do truly miss – a great slice of raspberry marzipan torte. After a quick brunch date with a friend back in the old ‘hood, I needed a taste of nostalgia.

The cake did not last long.......

The cake did not last long…….

There are other “Chicago foods” that, of course, remind me of the city. But, I can get a darn good Chicago char dog lots of places and I live just a few blocks away from several locations where I can get an Italian beef. So, for me, the raspberry marzipan torte is my taste of Chicago. Luckily, we didn’t move that far away and a trip to the city for an adventure (or just a slice of cake) is not a big deal.

If you were to move away from home, what would be the one food that you would miss?

One thought on “A Taste of Home – Or – Things That I Miss

Leave a Reply

