A running tutu

I recently ran a 5K that was held in a corn maze. There were lots of welcome-to-fall activities for the kiddos and at the end of the 5K I got a complimentary pumpkin and cup of cider. Yay fall! A friend of mine who was gonna run with me and I both decided that we needed to have some fun with this run by making tutus. Now, I’ve never made a tutu before so I basically made it up as we went on.

What I learned this time around:

  • Um, you will need way (!!!!!!!!!!) more fabric than you ever would’ve thought. At this point, I actually have no idea how much tulle I used. 12 yards maybe? I could’ve used less but I wanted the finished tutu to be really full and fluffy.
  • I started making a long tutu but changed my mind after I had reached the halfway point with the tulle. Not only did cutting the pieces into shorter pieces save me a bunch of fabric, I think it will also be better for running since the tutu will stick straight out instead of clinging to my legs.

I used ribbon as the base. This means that I’ll have to tie it to wear it. For me, this is fine. If I were to do it again, I think that I would try to make it with elastic. I feel that it would probably stay in place better.

It ended up being huge. Kinda surprisingly huge. I felt kind of like I had a innertube made of tulle.

Big pile of tulle

Big pile of tulle

Seriously. Seriously big.

Sorry. No more room in the car.....

Sorry. No more room in the car…..

But, it was a lot easier than I thought that it would be. And now, I’m looking forward to more running tutus for myself. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

