Just keep running. Just keep running.

When I was toward the end of my pregnancy with baby girl, I somehow got it in my head that I wanted to train for a 5K. For someone who has never run, who has never enjoyed running, who has never liked exercise…..this surprised…well…me. People who have been friends with me for a long time will recall that I would announce that “the only reason to run is if you are being chased.”

It seemed a bit daunting but I felt that a 5K was probably doable. Not too strenuous and I wouldn’t have to spend hours running.

Soon after I got it in my head that I wanted to run a 5K, I started to think that someday it might be fun to run a race at Disney World. I guess that I figured that adding the fun of Disney might make me enjoy the running, or at least not dislike the running. I shared that thought with Ryan. He agreed that it would be a good plan. My birthday present was an iPod and a card on which he wrote “if you run, we’ll fly” meaning that if I did the running, we would fly to Florida so I could do a Disney race.

*flash forward a year*

I did not get as much running/training done during baby girl’s first year. That first year of baby stuff is a tough one. Juggling baby girl, big girl, teaching, AND grad school classes meant that I had absolutely no time. But this summer, that changed.  I started doing a 5K training app and eventually I graduated from the 5K training and began the 10K. I still kind of have a hard time believing that I’ve been able to do this. I’ve noticed a difference in my energy level. I had noticed a difference in how my clothes were fitting…..until the holiday candies/foods started appearing in my kitchen. And, I’m doing all of this while raising money for Special Olympics. I’m actually looking forward to running. (Well….not every morning….some mornings I am definitely not looking forward to running. Especially now that the colder weather has appeared.)

I’m proud. I’m proud that I’m doing this. I’m proud that I’ve stuck to it. I’m proud that I’ve been able to do this for myself. I’m proud that I’ve been able to do this for my girls. And, I’m proud that I can do this for the athletes in Special Olympics.

If you would like to donate to my fundraising (any little bit helps!!), please click here. The link brings you to my fundraising page. I would also love to hear from anyone with stories about their training. How has it gone for you? What has been the hardest part? What has been the most amazing part?

2 thoughts on “Just keep running. Just keep running.

  1. I remember when I ran my first 5k at disney it was extremely daunting training, I was the last one in my family to finish. But when I saw that shiny half marathon medal I needed to up my game so then I ran the half marathon the following year! Now 3 years later I decided to try for the marathon. I am currently training for this January at disney and it is extremely difficult. But I keep thinking back to that first 5k and how far I’ve come. Keep working hard training will definitely pay off! Best of Luck!

Leave a Reply

