My Kid is Excited About Pasta Salad

My kid is excited about pasta salad. How in the world did I get that to happen? Well, it all begins with fun pasta.

IMG_5244

Pasta with fun shapes? Yea. That got her interested.

Then, I did veggie prep and she got to add the veggies but also snack on the veggies as I cut them. She might not consistently eat veggies at dinner, but if I just hand her a couple while I cut them, she’ll eat them up.

IMG_5245

When making a pasta salad, I tend to just put whatever I have into the salad. So, this time I added tomatoes, celery, and green pepper. I had some marinated artichoke hearts that I cut up and added (big girl decided that she likes artichokes) and then I tossed in some canned tuna (big girl also decided that she likes canned tuna because “it tastes like chicken”). I added a can of kidney beans but big girl is like her daddy and isn’t a big fan of beans. I then tossed it all together with some Italian dressing.

We put the finished salad in the fridge after the pasta was done cooking so that it could cool and so the dressing could work its way into the ingredients.

IMG_5246

Finished product? Big girl loved it. Who knew? I think that this summer is going to be filled with pasta salads.

Leave a Reply

