Revenge of the 10K

So, this weekend was supposed to be my mini-version of my upcoming Princess Challenge weekend in February. I ran a 5k on Saturday and then Sunday was supposed to be my 10k so I would complete the Remix Challenge. Well, that didn’t happen because I had an incident beforehand in which I fell on my way to the race on Sunday….and hit my head on the curb…..and spent the morning in the ER getting x-rays (nothing broken) and stitches (9 stitches total). This was not at all what I had trained for. I’m disappointed for sure. And now I have to buy yet another pair of the same pair of Ann Taylor Loft sunglasses (this will be my third pair) because they completely shattered when I fell. … I love those sunglasses.

-As a side note, my experience really showed why the running community is so amazing. There were lots of runners all walking to their corrals (or the porta-potties) and so many stopped to see if I was ok, help me up, give me a towel, etc. And, a Streets & Sanitation employee stopped, called the ambulance, and waited until the ambulance pulled up before he left. Way to go, Chicago!

Sure, I didn’t get my Remix Challenge medal on Sunday. (But I’m already planning a victorious return next summer. Remix Challenge – I’m coming for you!…..again……) And, I didn’t get my 10k done for this summer running season. But…….the thing about races is that once you start, once you’re hooked, you can’t quit. So, now I’m registering for 10k in September (Run Mag Mile) and I’m planning on doing a 15k at the end of October (Hot Chocolate).

That 10k medal will be mine. It just won’t perfectly match my 5k.

But it’ll still look good around my neck.

Leave a Reply

